11 Jan 2017

22 fellowships awarded in the fields of analytical data and business intelligence, operational research and artificial intelligence

Montreal, January 11, 2017 – Yoshua Bengio, scientific director of the Institute for Data Valorisation (IVADO), today announced the 22 recipients of the first round of IVADO Postdoctoral Fellowships.

Starting this month and in the months ahead, IVADO will begin welcoming 22 fellowship interns from 13 countries. They will collaborate in 12 departments at the HEC Montréal, Polytechnique Montréal, and Université de Montréal, as well with four major internationally renowned research centres (CIRRELT, GERAD, MILA, and the Canada Excellence Research Chair in Data Science for Real-Time Decision-Making.)

“A new generation of researchers is coming to Montreal,” says Yoshua Bengio, professor at the Université de Montréal and director of the Montreal Institute for Learning Algorithms (MILA). IVADO postdoctoral fellows will help expand our scientific horizons. “They will contribute to encouraging vital links with business and other sectors in the use of deep learning and operational research. Our dream of making Montreal a global data science hub is really taking shape.”

The arrival of IVADO postdoctoral fellows from around the world will further enrich an ecosystem that is already very dynamic. Their contributions will significantly enhance the collective value of all the data we produce.

Data science expertise is at a crossroads in numerous disciplines. Interns will benefit from multidisciplinary collaborations in areas such as e-commerce, deep learning, medical genetics, humanitarian logistics, marketing, and operational research. They will also contribute to the general development and promotion of IVADO’s research activities.

The IVADO fellowship recipients are:

Amine Amrouss (Morocco)

Joseph Paul Cohen (US)

Simon A. Cousins (UK)

Amira Dems (Tunisia)

Jie Fu (China)

Ianis Gaudot (France)

Jean Bertrand Gauthier (Canada)

Jason Jo (Canada)

Martim Joyce-Moniz (Portugal)

Guillaume Rabusseau (France)

Ahmed Ragab (Egypt)

Haidar Raza (India)

Michael Römer (Germany)

Catherine Schramm (France)

Selene Silvestri (Italy)

Paul St-Aubin (Canada)

Simon Thevenin (France)

Gabriel Yergeau (Canada)


In addition, four distinguished researchers were named IVADO Fellows for the excellence of their candidacy:

Devansh Arpit (India)

Margarida Carvalho (Portugal)

Gonzalo Muñoz (Chile)

Devon Hjelm (US)

The selection committee was impressed by the excellence of all the applications received. Competition will begin for the next round of IVADO Postdoctoral Fellowships in the spring.