Luc Vinet



Luc Vinet was appointed as Chief Executive Officer of IVADO in August 2021. Aisenstadt Professor of Physics at the Université de Montréal, Dr. Vinet is an acclaimed physicist and mathematician with extensive experience in university administration. From 1999 to 2005, he was Vice-Principal (Academic) and Provost of McGill University, before becoming Rector of the Université de Montréal from 2005 to 2010. Dr. Vinet was also the Director of the Centre de recherches mathématiques (CRM) of the Université de Montréal, from 1993 to 1999 and again from 2013 to 2021. In addition to being one of the founding directors of the MITACS network of Centres of excellence, he was instrumental in the creation of many other leading research organizations in Québec and the rest of Canada.

Born in Montréal, Dr. Vinet holds a doctorate (3rd cycle) from the Université Pierre-et-Marie-Curie (Paris, France) and a Ph.D. from the Université de Montréal, both in theoretical physics. After two years as a research associate at MIT, he was recruited to the rank of assistant professor by the Département de physique of the Université de Montréal in the early 1980s, receiving his promotion to full professor in 1992. His research mainly focuses on the exact solution of physical models through the study of symmetries and their algebraic description. Dr. Vinet has made numerous scientific contributions in various subfields of theoretical physics and mathematics.

Dr. Vinet’s achievements have earned him multiple distinctions, both national and international. He holds an honorary doctorate (2006) from the Université Claude-Bernard (Lyon, France). In 2009, the Government of Québec presented him with the prestigious Armand-Frappier Prize. The excellence of these contributions was also recognized in 2012 by the Canadian Association of Physicists (CAP), among others, who awarded him the CAP-CRM Prize in Theoretical and Mathematical Physics. He was then made an Officer of the Ordre national du Québec (2017), Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada (2018) and Member of the Order of Canada. In 2022, he received the ACFAS Prize Urgel-Archambault.